N-Europe

Windows 10

Happenstance

Waiting for it to download on my laptop.

Downloading Windows 8.1 for my desktop PC as I currently have a Windows copy running that's not genuine *cough*.

But because I'm a student I get a Windows 8.1 product key for free :p (no Windows 10 key, though for now...so I have to update Windows 8.1 to 10)

Anyone planning on upgrading to Windows 10 today then?

My computer was downloading an update for hours last night, which I assumed was probably Windows 10, but it appears to have been an update for Windows 7 which seems pointless :heh:

I was hoping to have it today but I haven't got any notification about it so I guess I'll have to wait :hmm:

EDIT Never mind.. I went into Command Prompt and forced it :heh:

EDIT 2 OK.. it isn't working!

Edited by nekunando

Well, that Windows Icon in the task bar is gone...

And Windows 10 hasn't been downloaded...so no idea what's happening with my laptop right now .

Go to your C: and change the folder settings to show all hidden files. If there is another windows folder there then you've downloaded it.

EDIT: It should start with $Windows

Edited by Happenstance

I'm not even considering upgrading to Windows 10 at the moment, I'll let others test the water and even if I feel compelled to I still wouldn't bother until upgrading the RAM at the very least in my already technically out of date three year old PC which wouldn't have been designed to run this software in the first place and even before that I'd make an extensive backup. :heh:

I stuck with Windows XP for however long it was out for until Windows 7 was 'on the way out' and only then did I upgrade to a Windows 7 machine 3 years ago after seeing the horror story which is Windows 8 which I deemed to be totally useless for Desktop PC's.