NEurope
Sign in to follow this  
Arragaun

Who else finds it difficult to get a job?

Okay, so I've applied to at least ten million shops over the last year and a half and I've not had one bit of a phone call off any of them. What's my problem, is it because I'm a student? No, most of my student friends have jobs, so that isn't it. Is it because I'm male, and I can't bat my eyelids at the managers? No, half my student friends with jobs are male.

So does anybody else have the same problem as me?

This thread is also open to people willing to give me magic tips and tricks to help me along my way...

I've applied for a job at the local co-op. I was told they desperately needed staff, I got a good word in abuot me from one of the staff there - not even a phone call back from them :(

Ironically i've been trying to get out of a shop job and into something proper and permenant. I've been applying for loads of jobs but still to no avail. It's probably due to lack of full-time job experience rather than my educational achievements. All you can do is keep trying and don't take rejection personally, if the managers of these companies are anything like at my current place of work they don't know their arse from their elbow... quite literally.

Ive never really had a problem, but saying that ive only ever had 2 jobs. One was a part time job when i was at college which i got straight away with no problems at all. The other is my current full time job which ive had for over 2 and half years now.

I start a new job Monday and i couldnt be any less excited.

What kills me, is this 'hiring process' i had to go through which took a whole month to complete. Ive been to the workplace 5 times and havent actually worked yet.

1st time- orientation

2nd time-skills tests to gauge whether or not im a dumbass

3rd time-an actual interview with a manager

4th time-another interview with another manager

5th time-a 3rd interview and then they sent me to get a physical