Welcome to the new Forums! And please bear with us... ×
N-Europe

Career Penguins

Iun

So, I am currently the Director of English Studies at this here school. My remit is all the TEFL and International Teaching here. I am also a teacher here.

I get to work most days at 9 and start my lessons at 10, finish at 11.40. I then do planning, meetings with my staff etc until I leave at about 2.30. For this I am paid well.

The problems is that the school is small, badly organised (my department is not) and generally lacking direction. Also, I have gone two years without a payrise. And it's quite far from my home, too.

I have been offered a job at a school with a great reputation, bigger than this one and with more children. It has an ALP and the money is better than now. Plus it's very close. The pay is better, but in total only adds up to my current salary plus my private jobs. Which is good, because I hate a lot of my private work.

The issues are: I would have to 8.30 to 5pm it - which would be ok, but for my private works that I do from about 4pm most days. From 9-3pm no break time as you're with the children the whole time.

The biggest issue, is that it would be a step backwards: I'd be a teacher with no responsibility for the rest of the school, only my class. Which would take the pressure off, but it doesn't seem a good career move. Or does it?

Your thoughts...?

Hmm that's a tough one Iun but here are my thoughts on taking the new job in bulleted form...

Pros

Better Pay

Less Travel Time

Less / No Private Work

Less Stress / Pressure

Cons

Longer Hours

Less Responsibility (initially)

The pros would seem to outweight the cons but only you know for sure Iun, I hope this helps though. :)

Interesting predicament Iun. As a qualified careers advisor I'll give you some of the usual banter I have with adult clients. It may help you.