NEurope
Sign in to follow this  
Combining the home console and handheld

Is there a topic on this already? Didn't find one, so here goes.

So...why not combine the two into just one machine, home console + handheld? I mean the Wii U already looks and semi-functions like that, so it's really not a stretch. Currently, the 3DS is doing fine and the Wii U is not, but what if the two were combined? No-one could possibly complain about any drought if you could play the 3DS games on the Wii U as well.

Also, the fact that there are 2 separate eShops and Virtual Consoles just seems to create unnecessary work and duplicity of titles. Does it really make sense to release the same game in two different eshops? Why just not combine them into one service? The catalogue would be bigger, and the updates faster.

Now, I'm no engineer so I have no idea of how possible / hard to pull off this would actually be. What do you guys think about this in general?

They have already said that the next handheld and console will share the same OS and ecosystem, so developers could release games for both with minimal effort (like how games for iPhone work on iPad). They'll never get rid of either the handheld or the console though as it hugely dents their revenue streams.

I am a huge fan of this line of thinking. The least devices I have to purchase, the better.

The Neo Geo X is a great example of how I believe this could/should work.

For reference:

1dock-672x360.jpg

There was a rumour about the FUSION being this ages ago. I really like the idea in theory. In practice though the handheld would have to be incredibly powerful or the console pretty weak... Or in the middle and maybe satisfy neither...

It can't just be a case of having the Wii U/PS4 with the 3DS/Vita as the controller/dual screen though, simply because of how much that setup would cost for the consumer.