N-Europe

Best Place For Computer Parts

Cube

I'm looking at building a new PC, to run games better than my laptop. All I need is the desktop (I have a keyboard, mouse, my TV will be the monitor).

I've never built a PC before, but it's something I want to do, however I'm not really great on hardware and working out what parts I need and working out the best value. However, if it is expensive then I can spread the cost across a few months. I've always been a AMD/ATI person (don't really know why) - is there a reason to change to Intel/nVidia at all?

Where are the best places to look, or the best guides for this?

http://www.ebuyer.com/ and http://www.scan.co.uk/ are the best ones. (You can get free delivery from Scan through AVForums http://www.avforums.com/forums/scan_offer.php you have to wait 14 days so best to sign up now).

As for AMD/intel etc., I'd say just go for whichever was the best in your price range.

As for guides, the mobo manual will tell you where everything goes, and there are plenty of guides around (just search it in google) if you need extra help.

If you aren't sure about parts, then you could always try a mobo bundle, although personally I'd recommend just researching and getting exactly what you want. http://www.novatech.co.uk/motherboardbundles/

Edited by MoogleViper

I've just built one for the first time and I might be able to help.

Best places to buy are ebuyer like Moogle said but also Amazon, who are often cheaper and tend to have cheaper delivery options (although expensive stuff on ebuyer is usually free delivery). Also great sites for parts are Novatech (got my graphics card there), dabs.com (big range), scan.co.uk and aria.co.uk.