N-Europe

Need help (Web Design)

The Lillster

Hello,

I have been developing websites for a couple of years now, and i've become quite good at it. However, I do not have any coding experiance like php, asp, asp.net,SQL,etc... Also, I only have minimum experiance in Flash (I am putting more effort into learning this now).

I can make basic asp scripts using Dreamweaver, but thats about it.

Anyway, the reason why I posted this topic, is because I was wandering how much experiance would I need to get a job in web design, and how I can get it?

Also I how would I get experiance in e-commerce?

Overall, how many years of experiance should I have in webdesign?

When showing off an example of a website i've made, what do they look for in terms of design and presentation? I mean would it need to be graphics heavy, or could I get a way with something that looks simple, but stylish?

Thank You. :)

I don't think it can really be pinned down to "years" of experience. If you made fifty websites in a year, or five - it depends on how good they are. Do you have any examples to share with us?

I definitely think, to make it in "the industry", you need to learn SQL and PHP. They're excellent for making very dynamic websites. I don't know much about .asp but from what I hear, it's an outdated, annoying code that other codes can do the functions of much better.

The things I would suggest are:

* make a portfolio

* share your designs on an art site for critique, like http://www.deviantart.com

* try selling basic templates online for $10-30 to get recognition

* contact people in your local area who you think could benefit from a website

* check local ads for webdesign offices looking for someone to work with them (it would help with experience even if you wanted to go independent)