N-Europe

Learning a Language

Strider

Hey guys

As I've got a fair bit of free time on my hands over summer I've set myself a challenge of a learning a computer language of some sort. I would say my main goal would be to create some sort of android app. I am a complete and utter beginner at this and to be honest I have no idea where to begin... (helps?)

I understand android apps are written in java so would this be a good place to start? Or some other language? I remember in the first few weeks of my computer science degree (before dropping out and doing biology) that we did C++, yet I don't even know the difference between any of them.

Any help/hints/tips for a beginner would be good :D

Ultimately, it depends on what you want to do with the language once you have learnt it. If android development is your intention then yes, Java would be a good place to start. I started with C# and whilst a little wordy at times, I found it an excellent starting point and it made the transition to other languages much easier. It does share a lot of similarities with Java though and I can see that also making a fine entry point.

I had to learn Java for Android development but my teacher was horrendous and I didn't really like Eclipse (it's the official IDE for Android) because it's slow.... even if your machine is a beast - plus the emulator is crap if you don't have an android device handy. Trying to learn in that kind of environment doesn't benefit anybody, but I digress. Learning to program in Java is one thing, learning how to use the Android SDK is another so learn the basics first to prevent yourself getting overwhelmed.