NEurope
Sign in to follow this  
Aneres11

Favourite Switch experience (so far)

I have been thinking about the Switch a fair bit recently as I have amassed a bit of a backlog of games that I have had my eye on, but am yet to buy. 

So I am sorting a list of upcoming and already released games that I want to get stuck into first. 

It got me thinking about games I have played so far, and whilst I haven't been as satisfied with the Switch as I would have liked, I have had some great experiences with it. 

For me, I think I'd have to say Animal Crossing has been the highlight. Which is pretty surprising as I have never been a massive fan of the series - but this one really grabbed me. Perhaps it was due to COVID hitting and us all being locked down giving me a load of time to play the game, but I still love the work I put in on both of my islands and have massively fond memories of the whole experience. 

Breath of the Wild and also playing the Switch for the first time was also a great moment for me. Similarly, I've never been a huge Zelda fan but that game really drew me in. 

What about everyone else? 

Was it a particular game that stood out, or just the overall use of the system on the go or the ability to play in bed etc that you've enjoyed? 

• Thanks 2

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate has been an excellent experience overall for me, and the portability aspect (allowing people to bring Switches into various places for meets) helped immensely.

The general ability to play a game in my bed before going to sleep has enhanced a lot of games as well, whether that be an atmospheric Metroidvania like Dandara (playing in a smaller screen in the dark made it more immersive), or a simple Picross puzzles.

Playing it handheld also helps a lot in quieter, smaller segments of large games, like exploring Garreg Mach in Three Houses: since no dramatic moment happens there, I don't make a point to play it on the TV. Ditto for smaller sidequests in Bravely Default II.