NEurope
Sign in to follow this  
Goafer

Raspberry Pi

Someone on my Facebook feed was interested in seeing a build thread for my Raspberry Pi, so I figured here was the best place to do it. Feel free to contribute with your own Pi tales.

I won't be covering the RetroPie software setup, as it's well documented elsewhere, plus emulation is naughty and shouldn't be encouraged. (Also, I've totally forgotten how I did it.)

Intro
The Raspberry Pi is basically a tiny, Linux based computer. They can be fairly complicated if you want to do your own stuff with them, but for the more common uses, there's tonnes of tutorials and help out there. I have very little coding experience and I've been fine so far. I also have not had to do any soldering, but that may change depending on how I go about adding a speaker.

Part list (so far):
Raspberry Pi model 2b (I think a model 3 would work for this build too)
Quimat 3.5 inch touch screen and case (touch screen not used in my build)
Vitalitim Bluetooth Adaptor
8Bitdo SFC30 Controller
8Bitdo Xtander

I've had the Pi set up as a retro station for a while, but decided I wanted to make more use of it and take it with me when I go away with work/on holiday (although getting it on a plane might be interesting). Rather than hoping the hotel room TVs have a HDMI socket, I thought I'd make the Pi completely self reliant.

Raspberry Pi board, as it came out the box:
rp1.jpg

I previously had it in the official case, which is a great case if you just want to hook it up to a TV:
rp2.jpg

The screen comes in kit form and is super easy to setup.
rp3.jpg

There were no instructions, but it's fairly straightforward. First step was to attach the Pi board to the backing plate, making sure to use the plastic spacers to hold the board away from the backing plate itself. This was probably the most fiddly part of the build so far.
rp4.jpg