NEurope
Coolness Bears

Book Reading Music.

I've recently started to read books again as in today I've decided to get back into the swing of things and read some decent literature. My 10 year old self would be ashamed in me the last few years at my lack of book reading.

Anyway I listen to music when I read, stick on my headphones and transport myself to another world as it helps me concentrate and focus entirely on the book. :D Do other people do the same? or do they enjoy a quiet read.

I'm currently reading American Psycho and I try to choose albums that might fit with the mood of the book but I'm not very good at gauging what would suit that feel or what music makes for good book reading music.

Essentially I'm after some recommendations. :grin:

Today I listened to:

Wavves - Wavves.

1857851.jpg.jpeg

Neon Indian - Psychic Chasms.

psychicchasms200.jpg

and My Bloody Valentine - Loveless.

loveless.jpg

BITE MEM.

I absolutely can't listen and read at the same time. The only time it helps is when I'm rote-learning, it seems.

I'm currently reading American Psycho and I try to choose albums that might fit with the mood of the book but I'm not very good at gauging what would suit that feel or what music makes for good book reading music.

That's a really neat idea though :) Might try it.

Nah, I'm like Eddie here, I can't read properly if I have other things that might attract my attention. Stuff/noise I wouldn't pay attention to anyway is not an issue, but stuff I might actually focus on were it not for the book tends to disrupt my flow.

Silence is key for me. Either that or piano music or movie scores that are easy on the ears.

re: American Psycho

Just listen to the music he talks about in the book. Huey Lewis, Diana Ross, Phil Collins et al.

---

For me, I can't do words no more. Ambient or instrumental stuff like Explosions in the Sky or more chilled out Mogwai is always good.