NEurope
Sign in to follow this  
Mr_Odwin

LLU Broadband

I'm looking into changing my broadband from Nildram's "up to 8Mb" to an LLU provider.

My current company seem to have taken to traffic shaping in the evenings which is really annoying me. Youtube stutters horrendously, p2p apps are unhappy and general surfing has slowed down.

Is there as much difference between LLU providers as there was between ADSL providers? I'm trying to decide between ultra cheap O2 and the well recommended, but more expensive, Xilo.

What are peeps gaming/surfing/p2p LLU experiences with Be, O2, etc?

I currently use Be, they've always been very good, gaming online on my xbox, even via wireless through to the next room, has always been smooth. The connection does seem to drop off every now and then for a minute or so, usually after/during excessive usage - not sure if that's the router or the ISP's fault though.

I've been using their up to 24MB service for a couple of years now and always been impressed with the general speed. Distance from the exchange means I only get about 11MB but that's just how it goes with DSL.

However personally I'm thinking of moving to Virgin for the cable quality and just to get away from BT for my line rental, cos they're rip-off merchants!

I know I don't need to remind you of all people but... don't forget quidco ;)

Yeah, quidco would make O2 mega mega cheap, but I'm put off by the 12 month contract. If I go with Xilo, I could jump ship after a month if I had problems.

I was desperate to move to LLU - our area suffers horrific congestion on BT IPstream; so we moved to TalkTalk (being the only LLU provider in the area).