NEurope
LukeLee

dream job vs current position

Okay so do you have a dream job? What is it? What do you have to do to get there and where do you stand now?

Standard path to become a clinical psychologist;

A levels (1/2 years)

2.1 degree in Psychology (GBR accredited) (3 years)

At least 2 years experience as an assistant psychologist

a phd in clinical psychology (3 years)

then you're fully qualified.

So I've done my A levels and and degree. Have 2 years experience from before uni, but not as an assitant psychologist.

So I finished my degree in July last year and since then i've been sending loads of cv's with letters to psychologists, but there's so few assistant psychologist jobs and they get so many requests that its very very hard to get an assistant position. Anyway, I had a little bit of luck come my way. One of the psychologists I emailed got back to me about a volunteering opportunity. I'm having to sacrifice a days work / pay, but I will get 'assistant clinical psychologist' on my cv which should really help me get a permanent job in this near impossible field. I start on friday and i'm getting excited. My current role in the NHS doesn't fulfill my needs at all.

So, how is your progress gowhere do you stand?

i'm about to finish uni

no idea what i want to do. something wordy. uh...yeah.

Currently I´m thinking about finishing college and going to a film school.

Problem is that it´s expensive

My dream job didn't even need a qualification, which sucks as i wasted 3 yrs on a degree. It did need experience however. My work here at cube/n-europe over the years served me well in getting a job in games journalism.

Some jobs, like doctors and lawyers etc, require ridiculous amounts of studying, i know a few people who have done it, and, at 22, are still well away from being anywhere near their goal, which isn't even guranteed at the end.

Life is hard.